A BLOG ABOUT MY WRITING and THE THOUGHTS THAT DISTRACT ME

Where should I begin?…

Welcome to my post.  I don’t know how you got here, but thanks for taking a look.  I’m going to tell you right off, I’m not the most interesting person to read about, so don’t expect much.  Saying that gets the pressure off me to try to write to please.  I’m not going to do that here, because that’s not what this blog is for.

My purpose here is to journal my experience in becoming a writer.  Already it has proven to be such a taxing experience that this will actually be therapeutic.  I hope.  Ultimately, I would want readers who may also be in the same pursuit to get something out of it, even if it’s a “yeah, that’s true.”

I’ve always wanted to write.  I knew that it wasn’t going to be my main purpose in life, because I only enjoyed it as a past time.  I don’t really know why I’m using the term enjoyed, because I’ve spent most of my years not writing.  I kept my imagination going, though.  I would come up with all kinds of creative ideas for stories, and nuture them and store them in my head.  I never had time to write, nor did I ever really feel like doing it.   The imagining of a story is the fun part.  I always figured the writing was the part where you get your hands dirty.

I started writing seriously about two years ago.  That’s when I realized I have no talent whatsoever.  Here I was, this creative mind, spilling over with plots and characters and setting details, but unable to craft one descriptive sentence… and you know about how many a story takes, let alone a novel.

They say don’t use adverbs and adjectives — but hey,  I can pull it out of my head that way!  I can get it on the paper that way!  I can get somewhere for a change!

I’m having to tease at my brain, pick and pluck at my precious story ideas just to get it written they way THEY say to do it.

But THEY are right!  When I do what they tell me to do, my stories read soooooo much better.  They come alive!  My characters are in perfect motion, the scenery opens the world of my story , and the actions unfold at a pace that sets the right rhythm.

So the tactic going forward is to listen, read, and learn… because, they’re right!

I was so bent on being unique and doing things my way, that I got lost in my own world with pages that had jumbled words as far as others were concerned.  But I understood it.  I would snap, then whine to myself.  But perhaps that is because I have the benefit of knowing the whole of the story in my  mind.  Reading it from my own perspective is very different from reading it from a reader’s (particulary my audience who would be young adult) perspective.

Anyway.  I’m going to get off to a good start.  At the end of each post, I’m going to add a word for the day (or the post, in case I can’t write in it every day… no pressure, remember).

WorD for The DaY:

cantankerous
Function:adjective
Etymology:perhaps irregular from obsolete contack (contention)
Date:1772

: difficult or irritating to deal with
–cantankerously adverb
–cantankerousness noun

credits:  Merrian-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary

Thanks for visiting

Jacqué

Tagged as: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

My Tweets (it ain’t much)

Writing Goals

My First Completed EbookNovember 11th, 2013
I will put my first Ebook on Amazon

The Background: Swamp Scene in Avoyelles Parish

The scene is a swamp in Louisiana, my home state. It is also the setting of my beloved story that I will finish one day, even if I have to take it up to Heaven in a folder with a pen. God would say, "you're still carrying around that thing?" I would nod my head and give him a humble blink, my pen and paper in hand. He would then ask, "so how are you going to get it to your audience when you're done?" I would gulp and give him another humble blink. Then I'd look down at my work and a grin would grow on my face . . . (you won't get it until after you read my book, once I do finish it. . .)
