A BLOG ABOUT MY WRITING and THE THOUGHTS THAT DISTRACT ME

Thirty (30) days to go… Until Dumped!

Hi all,

To whoever is reading.  To whoever cares.  I sent my submission to an agent who requested to see my first three chapters 12 days ago.  Their automatic email response states that if I don’t hear back within 6 weeks, just assume material is not right for their agency.
Well I haven’t heard yet.  It’s heart wrenching.  All of my hard work, and if the agent just glances over it, or doesn’t even read it because of the garbled condition the internet sent it in, I am doomed.
What else can I do?  I can’t call and say, oh, my submission got garbled, can I send it again?  They don’t want you to call.   So I sent a better one anyway.  But what if she read the garbled one first and ignores any subsequent emails with the same subject heading.

I am a strong believer in if it’s meant to be, it’s meant to be.

No matter what, my book will get published.  There’s no way I’m going to have worked my brain, my intense creativity and imagination, my fingers, and used up all this time, and put in all this hope, and just stuff it in a trunk somewhere because no one wants to take it on.  I will publish it myself, if I have to.  But that’s my last resort.  I’m willing to polish and resubmit over a period of years (I’m thinking two years at the most).   I’m going to give it my all.  I won’t give up.

So in the meantime.  Thirty days left.  Usually the way this works in my world, is you check and check and check and check, and then that day goes by.  Doom!

I try to predict Murphy’s Law:  should I hope so much so so so much and then it’ll happen (because I had faith and didn’t give up)?  or should I have no faith at all, expect the worst and then, surprise!!!!!!!!!!!!!! — what I thought wouldn’t happen does (because I thought it wouldn’t).  Forget it, I’ll just pray.  But Jesus said, ‘God knows what your needs are…’   I guess I’d really just be pleading my case.

It is my first submission.  In thirty days I could be facing my first rejection.  A familiar experience, I hear.   I don’t want to “join the club”.    I doubt if I get much sympathy from others.  I already know not to expect that.   In other words, who am I to think I am so special that I would get accepted on my first submission.  Everyone gets rejected, don’t they?

Yeah? Well, I never did fit any mold.  I was never part of the ‘Cuh LUB’.  I was often the odd one out.  So why should this be any different?

Regardless of what happens, this is a journey for me.  It’s my life.   Hey, I’m just living it… no one could ever say I didn’t try.

Still with some hope I won’t have to write an acceptance (Er, I mean rejection) speech,

Jacquè

WoRd of ThE daY

Main Entry:petulant

Function:adjective
Etymology:L or Middle French; Middle French, from Latin petulant-, petulans; akin to Latin petere to go to, attack, seek— more at  FEATHER
Date:1605

1 : insolent or rude in speech or behavior
2 : characterized by temporary or capricious ill humor : PEEVISH
–petulantly adverb

-info provided by Merriam Webster Collegiate Dictionary

Tagged as: , ,

Leave a Reply

My Tweets (it ain’t much)

  • RT @RodManComedy: A good deed is like peeing in your pants. Everyone knows you did it, but only you can feel it's warmth. Today’s the Day! 1 month ago
  • @Corey_Feldman I'm a HUGE Michael Jackson fan. Anyone bigger borders on insane. I watched your video today. I liked the Michael moves. 1 year ago
  • Great Performances by all !!! twitter.com/nbc/status/672… 1 year ago
  • @nbcthewizlive Fully and thoroughly entertaining! Spectacular performance of If I Could Feel by Tin man. Each and everyone is doing great! 1 year ago
  • I am fully and thoroughly being entertained! They are doing a spectacular job, The If I Could Feel performance by Tin Man was amazing! 1 year ago

Writing Goals

My First Completed EbookNovember 11th, 2013
I will put my first Ebook on Amazon

The Background: Swamp Scene in Avoyelles Parish

The scene is a swamp in Louisiana, my home state. It is also the setting of my beloved story that I will finish one day, even if I have to take it up to Heaven in a folder with a pen. God would say, "you're still carrying around that thing?" I would nod my head and give him a humble blink, my pen and paper in hand. He would then ask, "so how are you going to get it to your audience when you're done?" I would gulp and give him another humble blink. Then I'd look down at my work and a grin would grow on my face . . . (you won't get it until after you read my book, once I do finish it. . .)
