A BLOG ABOUT MY WRITING and THE THOUGHTS THAT DISTRACT ME

I Thought I Was Michael Jackson’s Biggest Fan

I thought I was Michael Jackson’s biggest fan.  I challenge anyone who thinks they have listened to Michael Jackson’s songs more than I have.  (I’m willing to bet I would have even beat him on that before he died.)   All through my child and adolescenthood – from about 11 until 17, I listened to the Jacksons music and Michael Jackson’s solo albums all night.  I had one of those old fashioned tape players that was about 7 x 10 and had the 4 large buttons (stop, rewind, fast forward, and play) and one red button (record).  There was a jack for headphones and I would listen to the music as I fell asleep.  If I woke up (usu sev. times briefly in the night), I would turn the tape over or rewind and push play, then fall back asleep.  That was every night!

I would say in the past 7 years,  most days out of a year (not all), I will have listened to a Michael Jackson song.  (Only 1 or 2 after the BAD album).  I wasn’t into his newest stuff.

 

I said all that to say this:  I saw a novel in the bookstore today, and the dedication was to Michael Jackson.   Now, I  am one of the mush minds who thought she could actually meet and marry Michael Jackson one day.  (I outgrew that at about 21.)  But I never once thought to dedicate my novel to him.  And I won’t.  Yes, he was very important to me – as an entertainer who, by way of his music and other talents, got me through the awkward years of  childhood.  But I have more important people to dedicate my work to – like family members, or even my pets who sat and listened to me complaining, who seemed to empathize with me.

Anyway, yes I love you Michael, but…

Jacqué

wORd oF thE DaY

prolixity (love this one!)

Main Entry:  prolix
Function:adjective
Etymology:Middle English, from Middle French & Latin; Middle French prolixe, from Latin prolixus extended, from pro- forward + liqu*re to be fluid— more at  LIQUID
Date:15th century

1 : unduly prolonged or drawn out : too long
2 : marked by or using an excess of words
synonyms see WORDY
–prolixity \pr*-*lik-s*-t*\  noun
–prolixly adverb

Leave a Reply

My Tweets (it ain’t much)

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Writing Goals

My First Completed EbookNovember 11th, 2013
I will put my first Ebook on Amazon

The Background: Swamp Scene in Avoyelles Parish

The scene is a swamp in Louisiana, my home state. It is also the setting of my beloved story that I will finish one day, even if I have to take it up to Heaven in a folder with a pen. God would say, "you're still carrying around that thing?" I would nod my head and give him a humble blink, my pen and paper in hand. He would then ask, "so how are you going to get it to your audience when you're done?" I would gulp and give him another humble blink. Then I'd look down at my work and a grin would grow on my face . . . (you won't get it until after you read my book, once I do finish it. . .)
