A BLOG ABOUT MY WRITING and THE THOUGHTS THAT DISTRACT ME

Writing Woes

Hi,

Over the past few weeks, I have felt that my writing is nothing more than a chore.  What an awful feeling to have.  My beloved story, that I long to unravel from the creative crevices in my brain and transcribe into a novel people would hopefully embrace some day has become an amalgam of  sentences to shift around on paper.  (Copy, paste, cut, right click then drag, delete, undo, redo)  Thesaurus, dictionary, word families, Google search, image search)    Ughhhhhh!

I have lost the eagerness to tell the story.  I have become entangled into too many grammatical and prosaic details and have become stalled into correcting and recorrecting words, phrases, sentences, and paragraphs.  I am struggling to find the right words to put in the right place.  Adjectives and adverbs need replacing with action verbs.  The words at the ends of sentences need to have an effect of some kind.  The pacing and flow need to have rhythm.

I have an inner rhythm to my writing.  If it doesn’t read right when I proofread, I’ve got to change it.  It’s like my mind wants to dance a waltz or even groove  as it reads.

I don’t see myself at the point anytime soon where the right words will flow and the story will  actually be told as it reads.  Shoot! When will I ever get to move on to chapter two?  I could just do it, but chapter one will distract me like a stain until its right.

This may take me forever, but I hope that the process itself becomes easier with time.  Moreover, I just hope the final product reflects the story as it already sits –  completed in a nice package and tucked away in the creative sulcus of my brain.

For now, I’m going to resort to a couple of months of how-to books.  I know many writers think they’re a waste of time.  But I’m wasting time anyway.

Whew!

WOrD oF thE dAy

lackluster –  lacking in sheen, brilliance, or vitality : DULL, MEDIOCRE

(from Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary)

Jacqué D. Howard

Tagged as: , , , ,

4 Responses »

  1. I know this feeling too well. Be encourged.

  2. Try working in bits. Write one chapter at a time but don’t edit anything until your around chapter 5 or 6. I find if I don’t keep going back and editing every single chapter after I write it, I get more down on paper before I start editing. Keeps my rhythm going when I’m in the groove, and in times of brain cramps (writers block), I’m editing what I’ve wrote. Hope this helps!

    • That’s great advice, I’m going to try it b/c my pattern has been –> If I read it, I’m going to edit it – is my motto — not good. I’ve also found that skipping around and writing any chapter the middle of the story works well, too. I’ve been doing that, and it’s exciting to do. But… I still edit an awful lot. Thanks. I loved your stories by the way, esp. the Dot kid and the Willing guy.

Leave a Reply

My Tweets (it ain’t much)

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Writing Goals

My First Completed EbookNovember 11th, 2013
I will put my first Ebook on Amazon

The Background: Swamp Scene in Avoyelles Parish

The scene is a swamp in Louisiana, my home state. It is also the setting of my beloved story that I will finish one day, even if I have to take it up to Heaven in a folder with a pen. God would say, "you're still carrying around that thing?" I would nod my head and give him a humble blink, my pen and paper in hand. He would then ask, "so how are you going to get it to your audience when you're done?" I would gulp and give him another humble blink. Then I'd look down at my work and a grin would grow on my face . . . (you won't get it until after you read my book, once I do finish it. . .)
