A BLOG ABOUT MY WRITING and THE THOUGHTS THAT DISTRACT ME

Maybe the Bug was just being Friendly . . .?

A Friend to Bug Me

I was working out at the gym this morning, doing my usual routine, in a workout room separate from the main arena.  No one else was in there (just as I like it).  I did my stretches first, then sat on one of the benches to begin my upper body free weightlifting.

A bug, some mosquito-looking thing, started flying near my face.  It darted off, then zoomed back toward my face again.  Now, when you’re holding a 12.5 lb dumb bell in each hand and both over your head, your swatting defenses are impaired.  I found out the body’s next defense strategy is to pucker the lips and blow the thing out of the way.  That worked.  For a short while.  I stood up and did my arm extensions, three reps of 15 then sat back down again.
Here comes the bug, yet again.  At this point, I’m thinking death of the thing.  That’s third in the line of strategy, I realized. I was wrapping my mind around the idea crushing it against the mirror along the walls.  But first I’d have to follow it around and watch it zoom back and forth in the air.  I realized the teasing they do serves to aggravate the human defenses.

I stood there, delving in thought a bit deeper.  There was no one in that room but me and the bug.  Soon to be both in a duel.  Oh yeah, he was calling me out.  To an outsider looking in from the arena, if I do this I might look like a crazy person fighting the air.
I stood motionless, not able to resume my workout because of this thing.  I hadn’t yet embarked on killing it yet.

Then I thought, well maybe the bug was just being friendly.  After all, before I walked in, he was probably in there all by himself.  Maybe he was just getting in my face to say, hi.  After all, I can’t see his face.  Maybe he was smiling at me, maybe he was speaking to me.  After all, I can’t hear him, if he’s even got a voice.  As you see my thoughts had become contaminated with a bit of emotion for the thing.
I thought about it, and thought about it, and decided because of that possibility, the friendliness of a bug,  I shouldn’t seek his death.  He must have noticed the pondering on my face and got suspicious, because then he flew away.  I didn’t see him the rest of the workout.

Oh well, maybe I’ll get a point for that.

Tagged as: , , , , , ,

6 Responses »

  1. Beautiful!!!
    I happen to be a nature-lover and believe it, I let most get away.
    I so enjoyed following your well-constructed thoughts.

  2. Thanks for the compliment. Something’s changing in me. Since then, I’ve had a sensitivity toward bugs. The next day on my way to the gym, I was driving and saw a big grasshopper sitting in the passenger seat and he was facing me, no kidding. I drove in fear to gym, parked, rolled down window so he wouldn’t suffocate!

    • At the risk of sounding obsessed, “wow! That’s so cool!” I do such crazy things at times, irrespective of how socially proper the environment is. I really wouldn’t give a bug’s piss what a closeby lady thought.

  3. I really enjoyed this and am smiling…your story also tied in with my arachnophobia story today! I now “save” spiders if I can, so “not seeking it’s death” related to my thoughts, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

My Tweets (it ain’t much)

Writing Goals

My First Completed EbookNovember 11th, 2013
I will put my first Ebook on Amazon

The Background: Swamp Scene in Avoyelles Parish

The scene is a swamp in Louisiana, my home state. It is also the setting of my beloved story that I will finish one day, even if I have to take it up to Heaven in a folder with a pen. God would say, "you're still carrying around that thing?" I would nod my head and give him a humble blink, my pen and paper in hand. He would then ask, "so how are you going to get it to your audience when you're done?" I would gulp and give him another humble blink. Then I'd look down at my work and a grin would grow on my face . . . (you won't get it until after you read my book, once I do finish it. . .)
